top of page
  • pamtheeditor

That Nagging Feeling

Updated: May 19, 2022

Entry 11 (Apr)

Two months to go…and it seems like the more we accomplish to ready our house, travel affairs, and ourselves, the more stuff there's added to the list. Not complaining. It’s okay. It’s just all part of the adventure. J

Instead of blogging all the boring details, I invite you to catch a small glimpse of Woody and me trying to finalize our plans….and share with you that “nagging feeling” that keeps us on our toes.

That Nagging Feeling

(an original poem by Pam Johnson, who, like Bilbo Baggins, may run out the door without her handkerchiefs)

We’ve got tickets and passports and I’ve done research galore.

We need visas and vaccines and oh so much more.

Then just when I think I’ve got it all sorted out,

I’m plagued with that nagging feeling of doubt.

Because luggage can only be one certain size.

And, oh yeah, there’s more rules that Europe comprised.

And this form and that form, oh when will it end?

No wonder that nagging has become my new friend.

Some countries demand to know just where we’ll be.

And some won’t let us leave without paying a fee.

Okay, yay, I think it’s all figured out;

But, no, that nagging continues to shout.

Because, the bank, we still need to let know,

And our mailman and pastor, that we’re ready to go.

Airbnbs are booked; now may we flee?

But that nagging feeling just won’t let me be.

Oh, yeah, we need to say our goodbyes.

And update our will just in case we both (never mind).

Now to buy insurance in case there's a delay.

Oh, nagging feeling, please go away.


WAIT!


Slow down and breathe and lighten the mood,

Because really that nagging feeling is good.

It helps us remember what all we must do…

Before we take off for adventures anew.

-Pam Johnson (a mimi on the move)



Main Market Square, Krakow, Poland (2018)


The Road goes ever on and on, Down from the door where it began. Now far ahead the Road has gone, And I must follow, if I can...

—Bilbo Baggins



40 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page