top of page
  • pamtheeditor

What to Pack for a Year of Travel?

Updated: May 19, 2022

Entry 12 (May)


We get this question often: How do you pack for a whole year? My reply: I don’t know yet. But I’m open to suggestions. I’m really not too stressed about packing. My main concern when it comes to luggage is it being too large for the airplane. Regulations (especially for carry-ons) differ from airline to airline. I can envision myself bursting into tears as the ticket agent tells me my luggage is a half inch too tall. So—because that isn’t a pretty picture—I’ve done a ton of research. Conclusion: Pray for a very nice and understanding ticket agent. But really, if you plan to do your own trip around the world, do study all of the regulations for each airline. Also, keep in mind that when an airline says a 20 inch carry on, that 20 inches includes the luggage wheels. This has been my main frustration. Norwegian Airlines accepts 21.5 inches but Buddha Airlines only 20. (Why has no one invented luggage with retractable wheels? That 1.5 inches makes a huge difference!) As far as space, I think we’ll be okay. We did buy the largest check-on bags that seem okay for most all airlines (even Buddha). And we’ll each have a carry on and a personal item. So, we should be fine (as long as we’re frugal. I know I can’t take all 20 pairs of my TOMS L). So, what do we pack? Clothes: We’ll take the minimum of what we need, wear items to rags, and then shop for new clothes (oh, darn!). Fortunately, as I mentioned in an earlier post, we won’t be anywhere too cold, so no heavy coats and sweaters that would fill up a suitcase real fast. Layers is definitely the way to go on this trip. Electronics: Since I’m a digital nomad, my laptop is a must. Plus, Woody’s laptop will be my back up. And (as I just found out a couple weeks ago in Alaska) we also need back up cords and chargers. I’ll also take an iPad (to use as a Kindle) and Woody will take the Kindle. Then more cords. And phones…and even more cords. Never ending cords. Fortunately, there are Apple stores all over the world, so if we get in a pinch, I think we’ll find someone to help. Oh….and then there are all the adapters and converters. Sheesh! Toiletries: I did mention in an earlier post that we want to “immerse ourselves into the culture and buy what locals buy.” However, there are some things I really don’t want to spend a lot of time experimenting to see what will work for me (like deodorant and makeup), so, we will need to take a year supply of items like that. But lotions and toothpastes and shampoos and soaps…we will live like the locals do. Medicines: We’re stocking up on our prescription medicines that insurance will allow for the year. And we have medicines for malaria and typhoid fever…since some of our countries are “iffy.” And medicine for “Montezuma’s Revenge.” Yikes! We’re also taking tele-COVID tests, just in case there’s still an issue. (Hopefully, all testing will be lifted by this summer.) Souvenirs (will we accumulate them?): We’ll need to be so careful here. I love buying things from different countries—the memories they hold are special to me, and I love supporting local artists and businesses—but we just won’t have the space for much. So, I plan to get earrings (one pair per country) and I hope to collect original artwork. I learned a hack for that. Use a cardboard roll (like for wrapping paper) to pack paper artwork like drawings and watercolors. Just roll them into the tube. I’ll be on the lookout for those street artists. I’m not sure what Woody will buy…However, it’s been recommended that he sget a tattoo in each country. Those wouldn’t take up any space. ;) Books: Bible. A Man Called Ove (to read on the plane/train). Most everything else will be on Kindle. So, we’re still in the process of learning how to pack for a year. Any tips you have are greatly appreciated. A couple tips for you:

  • Share luggage with your partner, so if a suitcase gets lost, one of you won't lose everything.

  • I love packing cubes. I just stuff them in an almost-organized way, and fit them in the suitcase. Okay…time to figure this out. Only one month and counting. Hasta Luego, Pam “I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list” – Susan Sonta

Tucson, Arizona (May, 2021)

58 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page