top of page
  • pamtheeditor

We will not let limitations stand in our way: age nor money.

Entry 3 (Aug 1)

I mentioned two questions in my first blog you may want to ask us: How old are you? and, Are you rich? I’ll tackle the first question in this blog.

Well, I don’t consider us old. However, maybe we are to some of you. Currently, I’m 58 and Woody’s 65. But no matter our age, I think you’ll glean something from following us on this journey. For instance, who doesn’t want to know the best chocolates to buy in Switzerland; or how strenuous the hikes are out of Pokhara, Nepal; or how do you even get to Estonia; or if you really can buy Depends® in Morocco (see last month's post 😂)?

My advice: If you plan to travel, pick the brains of the “young” and the “old.” You’ll find a wealth of information from people of any age.

It doesn’t really matter what age you think is “old.” One can travel at any age. My mother, at 85, walked miles and miles and miles with me through Prague and Budapest, Krakow and Dubrovnik. Then 6 months later, she was climbing the hills around Machu Pichu.

Though I encourage travel at any stage of life, Woody and I are probably at one of the easiest ages for long-term travel. He will be retired (from full-time work) and I have a remote job (freelance editor), so we have some flexibility. Our children are grown, so there’s just the two of us. And our mortgage will be paid off before we leave (whew!), which gives us a bit of financial freedom.

However, we do have some “old age” aches and pains. But I’m determined to not let that stop us. As I mentioned in the last entry, there are seniors in Morocco, too; as well as in every country we plan to visit. So, if seniors can live in any of those places permanently, then why can’t a senior travel there?

On the other end of the spectrum, there are young people and young families in all these places. So, why can’t young families travel, too? Don’t let your age stop you. Even if you use a cane or a wheelchair, even if you’re towing a couple children along, you can still make it happen. It just may be easier for some than for others.

Anyway, I truly feel like this blog can be informative for everyone…no matter your stage of life.

Now, I need your input. If any of you reading this are 50+, what challenges have you faced—because of your age—while traveling in foreign countries. If you’re a younger person reading this, what can I include in this blog over the next two years that will help you? I want this to be informative for everyone.

10 months till departure! Wow!

Hasta Luego,

Pam


My mom (Joyce), oldest daughter (Lara), and me on a boat in Budapest. 2018


“Somebody should tell us, right at the start of our lives that we are dying. Then we might live life to the limit, every minute of every day. Do it! I say. Whatever you want to do, do it now! There are only so many tomorrows.” –Pope Paul VI



10 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page